

TEQIP-III SPONSORED TWO-WEEK WORKSHOP ON CLOUD COMPUTING

Organized by Department of Information Technology, Veer Surendra Sai University of Technology, Siddhi Vihar, Burla - 768018, Odisha, India, 8^{th} January 2018 - 20^{th} January 2018 (5 PM - 7 PM)

OBJECTIVES

This workshop aims to provide a comprehensive theoretical and hands on practical experience on cloud computing to the beginners. Cloud computing is a type of parallel and distributed system which delivers information technology services over the Internet. It has gained enoromous popularity in both business and scientific communities because of its cost effectiveness, reliability and scalability.

SYLLABUS AND REQUIREMENT

Syllabus

- Introduction and Principles of Parallel and Distributed Computing
- Virtualization and Cloud Computing Architecture
- Resource Allocation and Task Scheduling
- Fault Tolerance and Checkpointing
- Cloud Performance Tuning
- Energy-Efficient Cloud Computing
- Evolutionary Algorithms in Cloud
- Simulation using MATLAB and CloudAna-
- Cloud Applications and Advanced Topics

Requirement

The participants should bring his/her own laptop (Windows OS) for configuration.

EVENT

- Registration and Inaugural function
- 14 technical sessions and 8 practical sessions
- 1 poster session by participants [size: A1 $(594 \times 841 \text{ mm})$
- Certificate distribution and Valedictory function

ABOUT THE UNIVERSITY

Veer Surendra Sai University of Technology (VS-SUT), Burla is the premier unitary technical university in the state of Odisha, established in the year 2009, after upgradation of the first engineering college of the state [University College of Engineering (UCE), Burla - Estd. 1956]. The university is situated at the foot of world famous Hirakud Dam in a beautiful natural surroundings of river, lakes and mountains. VSSUT acts as an academic and research hub by promoting quality technical education for the society in collaboration with closely located reputed educational institutions like Sambalpur University, VIMSAR, IIM, IIHT and emerging industries like Hindalco, MCL, Vedanta, Bhushan Steel etc. to name a few. The university has more than 16 Departments offering 11 B. Tech., 20 M. Tech., 4 M. Sc. programmes in diversified disciplines of engineering and sciences with a special focus on Ph. D. research on emerging and advanced areas. The university has currently 5000+ students, 300+ sanctioned faculty strength, 500+ support staffs and 20000+ graduating students (alumni).

REGISTRATION LINK, FEE AND C

Registration Link

Link: https://goo.gl/forms/8LczAAXzaiJxzCZK2

University Website: http://vssut.ac.in/

Registration Fee

Rs. 1000/-

Contact

Email sanjayauce@gmail.com skpcse1@gmail.com

Mobile (+91) 9861126947 (+91) 7978685893

DEPARTMENT OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

The Department of IT, VSSUT, Burla was established in 2003. Currently, the Department offers 3 programmes including B. Tech. in IT, M. Tech. in ICT and Ph. D. in IT. The Department has student intake of 200+ and sanctioned faculty strength of 18. Since its inception, the Department has produced 600+ high quality technocrats serving in reputed industries and R & D organizations spread across the globe. The faculty members and research scholars of the Department are pursuing high quality research work in advanced and emerging areas of information technology. The areas include (but not limited to) cloud computing, big data analysis, data mining, clustering, classification, computational intelligence, soft computing, evolutionary computing, pattern recognition, parallel and distributed system, embedded system, VLSI, NoC, SoC, computer architecture, image processing, fault tolerance, emotional intelligent, robotics, video processing and software engineering to mention a few.

REGISTRATION PROCESS

Interested participants from industry, academic and research community are required to submit an online registration form (https://goo.gl/forms/8LczAAXzaiJxzCZK2) after paying the registration fees in the form of DD drawn in favour of "INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY SOCIETY, VSSUT, BURLA" payable at syndicate bank, VSSUT, Burla or in person to the faculty coordinators on or before 3^{rd} January 2018. In case of DD, the participant should bring the DD on 8^{th} January 2018 and deposit the same in the registration desk. There is no TA, DA and accommodation for the participants. However, the participants may get the list of nearby hotels by sending a request mail to faculty coordinators of this workshop. Selection will be based on first come first served basis and the number of participants is limited to 50. Selected participants are intimated through email on or before 3^{rd} January 2018. Registration fee includes registration kit, course materials, participation certificate, snacks and a banquet dinner.

COMMITTEE

Patron

Prof. Bibhuti Bhusan Pati, VC, VSSUT, Burla

Chairman

Dr. H. S. Behera, HOD, IT

Advisory Committee

Prof. C. R. Tripathy, VC, BPUT, Rourkela

Mr. A. K. Choudhury Prof. S. Panda Prof. P. K. Hota Prof. P. K. Das Prof. U. R. Jena Prof. P. K. Kar Prof. D. Mishra Prof. S. K. Swain Prof. A. N. Nayak Prof. A. Rath

Workshop Management Committee

Dr. R. Mohanty Dr. M. R. Kabat Dr. S. Panigrahi Dr. M. R. Senapati Dr. P. K. Sahu

Dr. S. K. Padhy Dr. S. Panda Dr. K. Naik Faculty Coordinators: Dr. S. Das, Dr. S. K. Panda

Finance Committee: Dr. H. S. Behera, Dr. S. Das, Dr. S. K. Panda, Mr. A. V. Lakra, Mr. S. K. Srichandan

Registration Committee: Ms. G. Bhattacharjee, Mr. S. K. Srichandan, Mrs. S. Behera

Publicity and Invitation Committee: Mr. S. K. Sathua, Mr. G. Shial

Hospitality Committee: Mr. D. C. Rao, Mr. P. K. Das Session Management Committee: Mr. K. K. Sahu, Mr. A. V. Lakra Transportation Committee: Mr. D. P. Kanungo, Mr. S. Mohapatra

Speakers

The speakers for this workshop are from NITs, CET, PMEC, host University VSSUT and others.