### **Chief Patron**

Prof. Atal Chaudhuri Vice Chancellor, VSSUT, Burla

#### **Patrons**

Prof. U. R. Jena, Dean (CDCE)
Prof. S. Panda, Coordinator, TEQIP-III, cell

## Chairman

Prof. U. R. Jena Head, Department of Physics

## **Coordinators**

Dr. A. K. Pattanaik

Dr. S. K. Patri

Dr. M. P. K. Sahoo

# **Organizing Committee**

Prof. P. R. Das

Prof. M. R. Panigrahi

Dr. G. Nath

Dr. S. Sengupta

Dr. P. L. Praveen

Mr. S. Behera

Dr. S. S. Sarangi

Dr. J. P. S. Virdi

Dr. J. Bhoi

Miss P. Naik

## **About the University**

VSSUT Burla is the premier unitary technical university in the state of Odisha, established in the year 2009 after upgradation of the first engineering college of the state (University College of Engineering, Burla – Estd. 1956). The university is situated at the foot of world famous Hirakud Dam in a beautiful natural surroundings of river, lakes and mountains. VSSUT acts as an academic and research hub by promoting quality technical education for the society in collaboration with closely located reputed educational institutions like Sambalpur University, V S SInstitute of Medical Sciences& Research andemerging industries like Hindalco, MCL, Vedanta, Bhushan Steel etc. to name a few. The university has more than 15 departments offering 10 B. Tech., 7 M. Tech., 4 M. Sc. programmes in diversified disciplines of engineering and sciences with a special focus on Ph. D. research on emerging and advanced areas. The university has currently 4400+ students, 300+ sanctioned faculty strength, 500+support staffs and 20000+ graduating students (alumni).

## **Department of Physics**

The Department of Physics started in 1956 from the inception of the university. The department is contributing sincerely and profoundly to the academic and administrative development of the university since its inception. Currently the Department offers four programmes (five years Int. M. Sc., two years M. Sc. in Applied Physics, M. Phil and Ph. D). The department is actively engaged in teaching and frontier areas of research. Thirteen regular faculty members having expertise in various research fields such as Theoretical and experimental Condensed Matter Physics, Nuclear Physics, Plasma Physics, Nonlinear dynamics etc. are actively engaged in academic and research.

TEQIP-III Sponsored one week Faculty Development Programme On

Design and Development of Materials For Technological Applications (D-MTA) 21st-26th October 2019

Organized by

Department of Physics



Veer Surendra Sai University of Technology Siddhi Vihar, Burla, Odisha – 768018, India http://www.vssut.ac.in

> Coordinators Dr. A. K. Pattanaik Dr. S. K. Patri Dr. M. P. K. Sahoo

## **Objective of the Course**

The program is open for the Faculty members of Science and Engineering streams, Research Scholars, and the persons from Industry / R&D organizations. Participants are invited to register by sending the duly filled registration forms enclosed herewith. This FDP aims to foster an interaction with resource persons about the latest developments in relevant areas of teaching and research.

# **Topics to be covered in the Programme**

- 1. Materials of modern era
- 2. Synthesis and characterization techniques
- Challenges in the development and design of materials
- 4. Recent developments and multidisciplinary research approach on materials

# **Programme Outcome**

This programme aims on providing an overview of synthesis, processing, characterization and development of materials of different forms and also identifies the challenges in the design of materials for different applications through the adaptation of different strategies. The FDP will give an opportunity to interact with the experts from institutes of national and international repute. The participants will get an overall exposure and idea on recent research developments on theoretical and experimental aspects of the material world.

#### **Resource Persons for Faculty Development Programme**

The resource persons constitute faculty members from IITs, NITs, Central Institutions and State Universities.

## **Events of the Faculty Development Programme**

- Registration and inaugural function
- 16 Technical sessions
- Q & A sessions with experts
- Certificate distribution and valedictory function

## **Registration Process**

Interested participants from academic and research community are required to submit a filled and signed registration form (soft or hard copy) before 30<sup>th</sup> September 2019. There is No Registration Fee for the FDP, however the applicant has to submit the registration form in prescribed format along with a demand draft of INR 500 (Five Hundred only) in favor of Coordinator, D-MTA. This caution deposit fee will be refunded at the end of the FDP. No refund will be given to the absentees. Selection will be based on first come first served basis. Selected participants will be intimated through email on or before 8<sup>th</sup> October 2019.

Local hospitality will be extended to outstation participants.

#### **Contact Persons:**

- Dr A K Pattanaik
   Email:akpattanaik\_phy@vssut.ac.in)
   Mob.:(+91) 9861255915
- 2. Dr S K Patri Email: skpatri\_phy@vssut.ac.in, Mob.:(+91) 9438848400
- 3. Dr M P K Sahoo Email:mpksahoo\_phy@vssut.ac.in Mob: (+91)7995765320

# TEQIP-III Sponsored one week Faculty Development Programme on Design and Development of Materials for Technological Applications (D-MTA 2019) 21st-26th October 2019

## **Registration Form**

1.	Name:
2.	Designation:
3.	Organization:
4.	Address for communication:
5.	Phone/Mobile:
6.	E-mail:
7.	DD No:Date:
8.	Issuing Bank Address:
	Please register me for the FDP to be held at VSSUT, Burla during 21st-26th October 2019
Place:	
Date:	
	Signature of the Applicant
Sponsorship Certificate	
Prof./Dr//Ms./Mr	

Seal Signature of Sponsoring Authority