Electrical & Electronics Engineering Research & Consultancy


S. No.

Project Title

Principal Investigator

Project Duration

Amount(₹ In Lakhs)

Funding Agency


Transformer Oil Testing.
Ref. No. MCL/SAMB/Civil-welfare/TA/22-23/183, dated: 18/05/2022 and MCL/SBP/E&M/2022-23/208, dated: 28/05/2022

Dr. G.R. Biswal

June 2022 - continue


Mahanadi Coalfields Limited (MCL), Burla


Third Party Quality Assessment (TPQA) of the Electrical Works of construction of New Administrative Building (S+8) of AIIMS Sijua, Bhubaneswar.

Dr. G.R. Biswal

May 2022 - continue


Central Public Works Department (CPWD), Bhubaneswar

List of testing and R&D facilities available in the Deptt. of Electrical & Electronics Engineering (EEE)

  • A sophisticated facility to test and calibrate the gas density leakage sensor to be withstand in 50-MV AC / 70-MV DC environment; specially designed for SF6-Gas Insulated Switchgear (GIS)/ Circuit Breaker environment.
  • Necessary infrastructure to design and develop Smart plugs for rotating electrical devices.

Product development at department level

  • A provisional patent has been filed at IPR cell sub-office under eastern zone by the department for conceptual design and development of a “Smart Plug” for the purpose of device level control of electrical equipment up to 30-A rating using IoT platform.
  • Gyan Ranjan Biswal, Soumya Debasis Das, and Sourav Rout, “Smart Plug for Device-level Monitoring and Control,” Indian Patent Registration No.: 426/KOL/2020, Filing Date: Mar. 13, 2020

Memorandum of Understanding (MoU):

signed between CPRI and VSSUT for developing couple of state of art sensors for Gas Insulated Switchgears/ Circuit Breakers. The entire work is carried out by Dr. Gyan Ranjan Biswal as the Principal Investigator (PI) of the project.

Publications of the Department:

Sl. No. In Year 2019 Till the date
1 International Journals/ Transactions 14 48
2 National Journals --- 16
3 Book Chapters 03 17
4 International Conference 20 65
5 National Conferences 04 15

Details of Research Area of Faculty Members:

S.No Name Faculty Members Research Area Award/Distinctions
1. Prof. Rabindra Kumar Sahu Modeling, Simulation and Analysis of Power System Operation, and Control Automatic Generation, FACTS Devices Deregulation; Restructured Power Systems, and Application of Soft Computing in Electrical Engineering
  • Fellow of the Institution of Engineers(India), 2015
  • Received best paper award in IEEE InternationalConference on Circuit,Power and ComputingTechnologies (2013).
  • MHRD, Govt. of India fellowship in 2000 and 2004.
2. Dr. Gyan Ranjan Biswal, HOD
  • Power System Automation: Power Generations and Sub-station Automation (IEC 61850)
  • Sustainable Sources of Energy (HFCs and Solar PV / Hybrid Energy Systems)
  • Smart Monitoring: Smart Sensors, Intelligent Control and Internet of Things (IoT) and Cyber Physical System (CPS) in Micro-grid
  • Fellow of IE (India) in year 2019; Senior Member- IEEE, USA in year 2017, and Life Member of ISTE, India in year 2004.
  • Holds one Indian Patent; filed one.
  • Adapted one international edition book, Digital Fundamentals, Pearson India.
  • Recipient of MHRD Fellowship, and Centre for International Cooperation in Science (CICS) jointly awarded by INSA-CSIR-DAE/BRNS-CICS.
  • Recognized as Outstanding Contributions in Reviewing by ISA Transactions and Int. J. Hydrogen Energy, Elsevier for the year 2017.
3. Dr. Santi Behera Voltage stability using intelligent techniques
  • State award: Institution prize 2019: Power quality analysis of the hybrid SPV-wind integrated system with the use of FC and STATCOM
4. Ms. SarmilaGarnaik VLSI Signal Processing (speech recognition)  
5. Dr. Lingraj Dora Medical Image Processing, Pattern Recognition, and Communication System Engineering
  • AI Techniques for Biomedical Engg. Appln., Lap LAMBERT Academic Publishing, Germany.
6. Dr. Sasmita Behera Power Systems, Renewable Energy
  • Member IE (India), LMISTE, LMOBA
7. Mr. Bibhuti Prasad Sahoo Power System Optimization, Measurement & Instrumentation
  • Awarded MHRD Fellowship, 2009-11